Potato Kale Soup

When I saw this recipe from Saveur I started craving soup. I looked around a bit and also found this one.  Tuscan or Brazilian? Either way its delicious. I based this recipe roughly on both of those. Also, I had really planned to make croutons from some stale ciabatta bread but it had gotten too hard… so… breadcrumbs instead!

  • 1-2TBS butter
  • 1 TBS olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1/2tsp fennel seeds
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 3 potatoes, chopped (I used 2 yukon gold and 1 russet)
  • 2-3 c Imagine brand “no chicken” vegetable broth
  • chopped kale- a bunch (10 big leaves, stems removed)
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1tsp dried italian herb blend
  • salt, pepper
  • rice vinegar (a sprinkle)
  • freshly grated parmesan or stravecchio (or nutritional yeast for vegan)

So begin by heating the butter and olive oil together and add the mustard seeds, then fennel seeds. I really love the fennel in this! Toss in the onions and stir them around, followed by the garlic. Let them get translucent while you chop the potatoes. Add them to the party once the onions are cooked enough (mine started to turn golden brown). Add the broth or water enough to cover the potatoes, cover, bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Cook about 15-20 minutes or until the potatoes are tender. Press your wooden spoon around to break up some of the potatoes. Toss in the additional herbs and spices and add the kale. If needed add some more broth. Cover again and cook a few minutes. At this point I felt it needed something to “perk up” the flavors. I was considering lemon juice, then I remembered the vinegar. It really did brighten the dish! Garnish with grated cheese.

JF feels it needs something crunchy (blasted crouton fail!), but we both thought it was still really good and perfect for a cool fall day. Makes 4 small bowls or 2 large ones.

Submitting this to Bookmarked Recipes!

Hearth and Soul !

And also to My Meatless Mondays !

Comments on: "Potato Kale Soup" (12)

  1. This is such an interesting soup. I would love to try it! I have a hard time just eating kale unless it’s baked crispy. This looks good!

    • Thanks Lyndsey, I don’t think the kale is overpowering here. You could even add some cream to finish it off, though I think the potatoes add a creaminess by themselves.
      Crispy kale chips are da bomb!

  2. Sounds like a delicious, comforting soup on a cold day..beautiful pictures!
    Thanks a lot for linking this to bookmark event :)

    US Masala

  3. I can understand why this soup made you want soup. It makes me want soup to. Thanks for linking it up at My Meatless Mondays at My Sweet and Savory.

  4. Mmm, sounds so good with the mustard and fennel seeds in there. I don’t think I’ve ever baked mine with those spices. Thanks for sharing your recipe with the Hearth and Soul hop.

  5. Thank you so much for submitting this yummy soup to our event :)

  6. Tahemeem said:

    wow… potato and kale.. amazing combination :)

  7. That sounds like the perfect combination for a cold winter day. Love it! Thanks for sharing at the Hearth and Soul hop.

  8. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by J&L Health, Butter Poweredbike. Butter Poweredbike said: At the Bee and the Fruit in the Kitchen – Potato and Kale Soup http://bit.ly/eS2VzL #hsoul [...]

  9. Will be highlighting this at My Sweet and Savory.

  10. Thank you all for your kind comments and tweets!
    Comfy cook, I am honoured~!

  11. [...] really adds a nice touch to the soup. I just discovered how nice fennel is in soup when I made the potato kale soup last year. If you don’t have this salt, you may want to add fennel seed to your soup. It [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

