My good friend Donna gave me this recipe and its one of the best breads I’ve tried! This time I decided to add the raisin cinnamon swirl and it went perfectly together, no added sugar needed. I do think I should have been a little more patient on the second rise, and maybe should not have used a larger pan, so the bread would have had more height. I also read that “bark” spices like cinnamon can inhibit the yeast. With or without the raisin cinnamon swirl, this bread is really tasty. Soft and slightly sweet, great reheated, and fun to know you can make bread this easily!

Here is the recipe as she gave it to me:

  • 1c old fashioned oats
  • 1c boiling water
  • 1/3c honey
  • 1/4c/4tbs/half stick of butter, melted
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 envelope/.25 oz quick rise yeast
  • 1/4c of warm water (105-115 degrees F)
  • 3.5- 4 c flour (I use half bread flour when I have it)
  • 1t milk and 1Tbs oats for topping the bread, optional

Combine oats with the boiling water and let it sit 5 mins. Add yeast to the warm water, and let it activate, also 5 minutes or so. To the oats (you can do this in the bowl you will mix the dough in itself) add honey and butter and salt. Then pour in the yeast mixture. Then add 3 c of flour and blend it in. Knead in an additional 1/2-1 c of flour as needed to make a soft dough. Knead until smooth for 6-8 minutes. Cover and let it rest 10 minutes (I did a traditional “double rise”(let the dough rise to double its size in about 1-2 hours) because I was going out, so if you let it rise longer thats also fine. She says the short rest works for her too).  Grease a 9×5 bread pan. Roll the dough out to a 8×15 inch rectangle. (This is when I added the swirl. I just sprinkled raisins on top of the dough and pressed them in firmly. Then I sprinkled some cinnamon powder. Thats it!) Roll it up from the 8 inch side jellyroll style. Pinch the ends and tuck them under the bread. Place it seam side down in the loaf pan. Cover with a damp cloth and let it rise to double its size (at least 45 mins).

Preheat oven to 375.  Brush a tiny bit of milk over the top and sprinkle on the oats – optional but it will look pretty. I forgot to do this. Bake for around 40 minutes, until the top is golden brown and the bread sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom. Remove from the pan and place on a cooling rack. Try to resist the urge to cut into it while hot, hehe.  You can reheat this in the microwave or toast it and have with butter, that’s how I like it.

I am submitting this to BBD#34: Breads with Grains hosted by Swathi and originated by Zorra

Also submitting this to Yeastspotting.

And to Tasty Tuesdays.

Comments on: "Donna’s Delectable Honey Oatmeal Bread – with raisin cinnamon swirl" (13)

  1. Delicious bread, it has all the wonderful flavors . It can be good choice of breakfast or afternoon toast. Thanks for baking for Bread baking day#34.

  2. Such a lovely bread! Very healthy and perfect swirl, love the use of oat in the recipe. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving your sweet comment. Hope to see you again soon..

  3. ur bread looks delicious… cinnomon would sure give it a twist in flavour!

  4. I always wanted to bake a cinnamon swirl bread at home….This recipe sounds healthy too

  5. Wow! I just checked out your blog — looks great! Many years ago, I had a serious boyfriend from India and learned to cook a few South Indian dishes–all vegetarian. I miss that kind of food.

    I’m really busy now (selling our house, downsizing and moving to another house we own whose remodel isn’t yet finished) so life is chaotic right now. I probably won’t be back until our family life settles down, but I WILL be back!

    GOOD LUCK with this neat blog!

  6. What a beautiful loaf of bread! Nothing compares to the smell of bread baking. It is the most glorious smell in the world!

    US Masala

  7. Yummy looking loaf and I can almost imagine the aroma of cinnamon in bread!

  8. Please take a look at bread baking day #34 event round up

    http://kitchenswathi.blogspot.com/2010/12/bread-baking-day-34-bread-with-grains.html
    Thanks for your participation.

  9. Wow, the bread look delicious and healthy too. Love to add oats in my meal and this calls for a try soon.

  10. Your bread looks so fluffy and yummie. I’m drooling.

  11. We think alike:) Your bread looks so delicious, flaky and soft. I love this healthy version with the oats in it. Thanks for sharing it:)

  12. Swathi- thanks. We had it for breakfast and snack, it only lasted two days, hehe.
    Treat and trick- thank you for stopping by.
    Kitchenboffin- The cinnamon compliments the sweetness of the bread, just enough, not overpowering.
    Namita – do try, its quite easy
    RitaElizabeth – hope to see you back soon! Good luck with the move!
    Aipi – I love the smell too
    Lakshmi – thank you
    Sanjeeta – its a great use for oats, and you cant even tell they are in there
    Zorra- Thanks so much
    Raina- I must try your recipe soon!

  13. [...] Honey Oatmeal Bread with Raisin Cinnamon Swirl [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

