Bubble Corn Bread

I’ve been trying to decide on which bread to make for BBD- Corn-y Breads. First, I was going to try anadama bread, which has been on my to-try list for a while. Then I considered one from Amy’s Bread cookbook, which is shaped like a sunflower… very impressive, but maybe too advanced for me! Then I had narrowed it down to two from Bernard Clayton :  Broa, a soft portuguese corn bead, and this, “bubble” loaf. As you can see, I went with the bubbles! It was quite easy to make and I liked the outcome. Plus its cute how the little round balls puff up and fill the pan, then bulge over the top. And pulling them apart while the loaf is still hot, and smearing some butter on… mmmmm. I halved this recipe to make in a regular loaf pan.

Here is what I did:

  • 2c bread flour
  • 1/2c all purpose flour (or use all bread or all purpose)
  • 1/2 Tbs salt
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1/2 c cornmeal
  • 1 pkt active dry yeast
  • 3/4c water
  • 1/4c milk
  • 1 Tbs butter + additional melted for brushing the top(optional)

Mix 1c flour, salt, sugar, yeast, and cornmeal in a bowl.

Heat water milk and butter till butter melts, and then cool until it is just warm (and you can put your finger and hold it there without being hot).

Add the liquid to the bowl and mix hard with a wooden spoon for a few minutes (or do this in a mixer). Mix in flour 1/2 cup at a time until a dough forms. (I actually needed to add 2 Tbs more water, but ymmv). Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 8 minutes. He says the dough should be smooth and elastic, and feel alive under your hands!!

Cover the dough and rest for 20 minutes.

Butter the loaf pan. Punch down the dough and knead a few times to remove air pockets. Divide into 16-20 equal pieces, by dividing in half with a knife, half each again, and so on.  Roll each dough portion into a ball (I made little roll forms, by bringing the sides of the dough tightly underneat and pinching it shut, but this may not be necessary) Arrange half the pieces in the bottom. It does not need to fill the bottom because it will do that when it rises. Add the other half on top. Brush with melted butter (I didnt do this step). Cover tightly with plastic and rise for 1 hour.  You can also keep this in the fridge for 2-24 hrs. removing 15 minutes before baking.) Preheat oven to 375 or 325 if using convection oven.  Since I halved the recipe, it only needed to bake for 25-30 minutes, but he says to bake for 45-55 minutes. Place on a wire rack to cool and brush again with melted butter(optional).

Sending this to Yeastspotting, Bread Baking Day, and BYOB and also Healthy or Decadent

Comments on: "Bubble Corn Bread" (24)

  1. Looks delicious, I love easy pull up bread, Bernard Clayton’s breads are do able.

  2. Your Bubble bread seems perfect to go with a bowl of soup today. Are you still planning on making the anadama bread? I’ve been contemplating that one for awhile too….

  3. Baked to perfection..loved the pics too :)

    US Masala

  4. Not only does sound tasty but it looks absolutely beautiful!

  5. Cute and prefect baked corn bread..

  6. Cute and prefectly baked corn bread..great!

  7. wow this is so cute how it cooks

  8. This reminds me of monkey bread, though a bit healthier. It’s a beautiful loaf. I love bread, but I have to cut back on how of I eat. Two bubbles for me, please!

  9. This has to be the best recipe I’ve seen all week. I’m making it tomorrow, and I can hardly wait! Would you mind if I shared your recipe on my blog? I would be sure to link back to your site. Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe. Your kind words on my blog brighten my day…I hope your weekend is full of joy and love!

  10. rkmylott said:

    LOVE bread, I will have to make this. Thanks

  11. This looks sooooo yummy! I love breads with cornmeal. You should consider sharing it with a few more folks over at the weekly Saturday Decidedly Healthy or Horridly Decadent blog hop.

    http://ceodraiocht.wordpress.com/decidedly-healthy-or-horridly-decadent-blog-hop/

    Maggie

  12. This is beautiful! When I think of corn bread I think of crumbly squares, but these look like delicious rolls! I’m printing out the recipe and will make these this week. They will go perfectly with my stew.

  13. Looks yummo, can’t wait to try. Thanks!

  14. Wow what a fun idea! This look awesome and sooo delicious…

  15. This is awesome! Broa is on my list of things to make…but I LOVE your Bubble-version even more than the regular. You’re right, it’s very cute ;) I’m so glad you sent this along to BBD #36. Thank you :)

  16. There is no mention of ” salt ” in the instructions…
    Should I assume that it’s added with the flour, sugar, yeast and cornmeal…or should it be kept separate from the yeast.

    • Sorry about that, Barbara! Glad you brought it to my attention. Yes, it should be added along with the first set of dry ingredients. I have fixed it now.

      Thanks for coming by, and hope you like the bubble bread :)

  17. Thank you for responding and making the correction.
    The bread looks fabulous and I’m sure it will taste as good as it looks.
    Thank you for participating in “Yeast Spotting” …it’s how I found your lovely site and great recipe!
    Have a wonderful evening,

  18. Looks awesome and very bubbly. :-)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

