Such a nice surprise! JF made breakfast today yesterday(didn’t get around to posting).

Uppittu comes from the words uppu (salt) and hittu (flour). JF likes to use the coarse rava and make it rather dry.

  • ghee (or oil, but I only like this with ghee)

    toasted rava

  • 1c sooji/rava toasted in a dry pan or with ghee, remove to a bowl
  • 1/2tsp mustard seeds
  • 1/2tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 stem of curry leaves
  • 4 slit green chilies
  • 1 small onion chopped finely
  • 1 lg or 2 sm potato finely chopped
  • 1 carrot finely chopped
  • salt
  • pinch of turmeric
  • 2c water
  • couple stems of coriander leaves chopped

Heat ghee in a pan and add the mustard seeds then cumin seeds. pop pop pop. Throw in the curry leaves, green chilies, then the onions. MMM does anything smell better than curry leaves and onions frying in ghee?

Once they are translucent, add the potatoes and carrots, salt and a pinch of turmeric.

Stir for a couple minutes then add water and cover. Bring to a boil until the vegs are cooked. Slowly stir in the rava so it doesnt form lumps. Pat it down in the pan and cover with lid. Keep it on low heat for around 5 mins.

Serve with pickle or yogurt or just like that.

*We forgot to add, but cashews give a nice crunch.

Comments on: "Jackfruit’s uppitu (upma)" (11)

  1. luckyfatima said:

    Yum. I love upma…it is a comfort food type of dish. I had a Bangalorean housepeeker who called it upit. She was actually from an Urdu speaking Muslim family but spoke Kannada as well and would sometimes use Kannada words for stuff without realizing that they weren’t Urdu, so I always presumed upit was the Kannada word for the dish. If your jackfruit Kannada speaking?

    I love trying new upma recipes. I had Gujarati neighbors who made it with buttermilk instead of water. That was yum. I will give your recipe a try, too, when I get a chance 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! Yes, there are so many variations! He usually likes to add tomatoes and a squeeze of lime (which I think of more as kharabath) and I like the Tamil style.
      He is Kannada speaking, and I’ve also heard the upit. I asked him about it and he said its the same word, some people just shorten it or dull the “u” sound.

  2. This looks absolutely fantastic!!

  3. Looks awesome. I’ve never heard of rava, but is it kind of like couscous? I used to shop at an Indian grocery a lot when I lived on the East Coast, but since I’ve moved to Chicago I have yet to find one near where I live. I also loooove the smell of curry leaves . . .

  4. I’ve never hear of rava before; thanks for sharing!

  5. Hi Jenna and Her! Thanks for stopping by.

    Rava is like a coarse form of cream of wheat/semolina.
    Jenna, you should be able to find it on Devon St. I know they have many Indian shops and restaurants there. Good luck!

  6. Another one I’ll have to try, thanks for posting it! We have a bunch of Indian cookbooks, but the instructions are sparse and/or baffling, so it’s really nice to have a detailed one like this to follow.

  7. Thank you for posting this recipe. I once had a dear Indian friend (who has since passed away–very young, I should add.) From him, I learned to cook (and love) uppuma. I’d lost my recipe but never forgot this delicious breakfast dish. I’ve bookmarked your blog…so many wonderful recipes!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

