Yes, pumpkin palooza continues with this little goodie. I STILL can’t find my favorite pumpkin bread recipe, which was almost like a pound cake! So I adapted one from this muffin recipe. I can never say no to streusel.

  • 1c all purpose flour
  • 1/2c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2c cake flour (or use any flour to make 2 cups)
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp each pie spice, cinnamon
  • 1/2tsp each cardamom, allspice
  • 1/4 tsp each nutmeg, salt
  • 3 TBS softened butter
  • 1/2c brown sugar
  • 1/4c granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2c buttermilk (or yogurt thinned with milk or water- I used the pumpkin liquid from making the puree)
  • 1c pumpkin puree
  • 1/3c dried cranberries (I think I would use more next time)
  • 1/3c chopped walnuts (I planned on using green pepitas, but it turns out I was out of them)

Topping:

  • 2TBS cold butter
  • 3TBS brown sugar
  • 3TBS flour

Mix together in a bowl and using a fork cut the butter into the flour mix until it is like crumbs.

Preheat oven to 375

Sift together the dry ingredients.

Beat butter and sugar together until creamy. Blend in the eggs, pumpkin, buttermilk. Stir the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture until just combined, and then stir in the cranberries and walnuts.

Pour into a greased and floured loaf pan and top with the streusel. Bake for 40 minutes

More pumpkin recipes on my “to-try” list:

  1. No-Bake Layered Pumpkin Cheesecake
  2. Double Chocolate Pumpkin Cupcakes
  3. Spiced Pumpkin Donuts
  4. Pumpkin Aebelskiver
  5. Vegan Swirled Cheesecake Pumpkin Pie
  6. Rum Raisin Pumpkin Bread Pudding
Comments on: "Pumpkin Bread with dried cranberries and nuts" (4)

  1. Oh that bread looks amazing. Yum.

  2. Your pumpkin bread looks yummy! Cranberries in the bread are a great idea! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  3. Vieshnavi said:

    That looks DELICIOUS. I’m also glad I’m not the only one still drooling over pumpkin recipes. I just put up a post with my spin on a Pumpkin Soup. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

