A knock came at the door while I was… .Well, okay, I admit it, I was taking a nap!!! Ooooh there’s a package! What could it be???

A package from India!!

Yes, okay I knew it was on its way, but that doesn’t take away the joy of receiving goodies from loved ones across the world, right?

Here is some of the yummies that were inside:

So, first things first, there is the mysore pak, yum! A pressure cooker gasket, and that ADORABLEΒ  little mortar and pestle. Good Indian coffee, too.

And all the homemade spice mixes!! Priceless. Clockwise from top there is upma mix(which somehow always tastes better than mine), chutney pudi, uchalu pudi, vangibath, menthya & pepper for bisi bele bath, dry coconut, palya pudi, sambhar pudi, and last but far from least… 2 kinds of red chilies (guntur and byadagi).

Uchalu is the most unique of these and as far as I know, specific to Karnataka regional cuisine. Made from niger seeds, red chili, garlic and jaggery it is mostly had with jowar roti or chapathi. This page has some more info, and a slightly different recipe. I’ll be posting a couple recipes using this in the weeks to come.

Another wonderful surprise I received was my very first blog award from dear Akila at Akila’s Kitchen. Thank you so much!!

Akila hosts events with Dishes starting with “letters of the alphabet” starting from A. Great concept! The current one is letter “D”.Β  She also has “D”elicious recipes on my must try list,Β  like idli 65 and mango rasam!

I would love to pass this along to these fabulous bloggerettes!

Thanks to all who visit me here, I appreciate every one of you!

Comments on: "Early Christmas Gifts and My First Award!" (16)

  1. Sweet Artichoke said:

    Congratulations on your first and well-deserved award πŸ™‚
    Thanks so much for sharing with us and sending one to me!
    What a great box of goodies you received! I bet we will see many more delicious recipes very soon πŸ™‚
    I had never heard of niger seeds and will now do some research about them!!

  2. wonderful goodies, always miss homemade powders. Congrats on your award, wishing many more to come. .Thanks for sharing award with me.

  3. Tahemeem said:

    Wonderful homemade powders…
    Congrats on ur award dear…. And thanks a lot for sharing it with me… its a real christmas present πŸ™‚

  4. Mysore pak is a favourite of mine! Yum and congrats!

  5. What a lovely, lovely package!!

  6. Hy ,
    Thanx for dropping by..:)
    wonderful space you have..congrats on your First award..
    Wishing you many many many more success…Happy blogging..
    Tasty Appetite

  7. What a fantastic package…I’m so jealous!! And congrats on your award, as well πŸ˜€

  8. πŸ™‚ Thanks Everyone!

  9. How very thoughtful of your family and I love how nicely you posted it πŸ™‚
    Congrats on the well deserved award and thanks a lot for sharing dear!

    P.S. I have posted the beverage roundup , check it out when you have time and accept your participation certificate πŸ™‚

    US Masala

  10. WOW that’s a fantastic gift. Congrats. You have a lovely blog.

  11. luckyfatima said:

    Thanks for the award, and the recs for other food blogs. Congrats to you as well.

    Now, about your package from India: Lucky! How fun. I hope you give us some more Bangalorean recipes made with your new masalas.

  12. I just realized we have a lovely Asian Market here in Fairbanks. It has a number of spices from India. I’ll have to keep an eye out for how you use them!

    Madara

  13. Congrats on your award and thank you so much for sharing it with me. I’m very honored πŸ™‚

  14. Congratulations on your award! Looks like a wonderful package you got from your family:)

    Thank you so much for the award. I am really honored that you would consider me. I really enjoy your blog too.

  15. Hi!

    What a lovely gift….. and the blog award is so well deserved…. Congratulations πŸ™‚

    It is so so so very sweet of you to share it with me…… makes me really glad…..
    Can’t stop grinning from ear to ear…. Thank you…..

    Cheers,
    The Variable, Crazy Over Desserts – Nachiketa
    Catch me on facebook @ Crazy Over Desserts

  16. CONGRATULATIONS ON THE AWARD! WHAT FUN! And THANK YOU for passing it on to me. I can’t wait to pass it on to a worthy soul.

    Upma mix? Hmmm…I used to make something my Indian boyfriend of long ago used to call upuma. It’s a breakfast dish. I wonder if this is the same thing?

    I haven’t made Upuma in years. I’m so happy this post of yours reminded me. I’ll have to serve it to my family–it’s absolutely delicious!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

