I got this recipe from Mr. Hemant Trivedi’s Cookery Corner

Here it is:

  • 2c well cooked channa/chickpeas
  • 2c methi/fenugreek leaves chopped
  • 1 lg or 2 sm tomatoes chopped
  • 1 in ginger grated
  • 3 green chilies
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • salt
  • 1/4 tsp amchur powder or tamarind
  • 1 Tbs besan flour made into paste with 1 Tbs water

Tempering:

  • Ghee or oil
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp methi/fenugreek seeds
  • 3 cloves
  • hing

Heat ghee and add the tempering spices. Then add the methi leaves and cook them for a couple minutes. Add salt and all the masalas. Stir and add the tomato. Cook until completely softened. Stir in the chickpeas, and mash a couple spoons of them. Add a cup of water and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the besan paste and the amchur powder. Cook for 5 more minutes then add the coriander leaves.

Sending to Bookmarked Recipes at US Masala
and to
Complete my thali- Beans by Taste of Mysore and Joy of Cooking.


Comments on: "Rajasthani Methiwale Chole" (7)

  1. I am a total methi freak..lol..love it and I keep on putting in almost everything I make,and am gald to find another cool new way πŸ™‚ Delicious chole!

    Thanks a lot for linking this to bookmark event πŸ™‚

    US Masala

  2. Love the chole.. i know only the punjabi style..this is very interesting πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for contributing, I have never tried methi n chole together! slurrp..your bowl left me drooling.

  4. lovely ! will go well with puris

  5. Slurp,such an inviting chole..

  6. this chole looks delicious, love chickpeas, new recipe to me. i will try this.

  7. Yum – I love chickpeas, and I especially love them in curries, soups and salads. I definitely want to try this version – I know I would totally love it πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – I do appreciate your visit and hope you’ll drop by again.

    Sue xo

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

