I just made an amazing pizza! One of those pizzas that tastes like it came from your local pizza place… and not the cheap crappy pizza place, but a real authentic one! I’m pretty excited about it, in case you couldn’t tell. My only worry is I wont be able to replicate it, lol. So, I will try to describe exactly what I did, so that you too (and myself) can make this gorgeous dough once again (BTW, I think this will make awesome naan!)

This is loosely based on Peter Reinharts recipe, but I did not follow it precisely (shocking right? lol)

Here is what I did:

  • 1 1/2c warm water
  • 1 packet of active dry yeast
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1.5 Tbs olive oil
  • 1c all purpose flour, unbleached
  • 2-3 c of bread flour, unbleached
  • 1 tsp salt

Super Bubbly Crust!!

Mix 1/2c of the warm water with sugar and yeast. Let the yeast activate for 5 minutes or so. Add in the rest of the water, the olive oil and the all purpose flour. Mix it and let it sit for 5 minutes. Add in 1c of bread flour with the salt sprinkled over the top of it and sort of mix it into the flour then into the dough mixture. This is my crazy paranoid way of adding salt to bread dough because Im scared of killing the yeast. Then continue adding in the bread flour 1/2 c or so at a time until you get a very soft and still slightly sticky dough. I think moisture in the dough is key! Knead it until it just barely sticks to your fingers. Coat a large bowl with olive oil and coat the dough as well. Put it covered in a warm place to rise for 30 minutes to 1 hour. Preheat the oven to 475 (mine is a gas convection oven). Coat the bottom of your baking tray or use foil in the baking tray and put the oil on that which is what I did (unless you are using a pizza stone) with olive oil and coat your hands also. Cut the dough into about 3 equal portions, depending on the size of pizzas you want to make. One technique I picked up somewhere for making pizza is to squeeze the edge of the dough with your hands while letting gravity stretch the dough downwards, continuing clockwise around the edges. I did this until it was mostly stretched and then I put it on the baking sheet (remember to have everything well oiled!) and finish stretching it to the size you like. Let them rest about 10 minutes. Then pop this in the oven ON THE BOTTOM RACK. *This may depend on your type of oven*. I had two trays of pizza so I had one on the bottom rack and one on the middle rack, switched them after 5 minutes for a total of 10 minutes. This method produced a crisp bottom crust, no doughy middle and a light fluffy dough with lots of yummy bubbles!! Don’t let the bottoms burn.

Remove from the oven after no more than 10 minutes. It is just to partially bake the crust. Next slather on your sauce and pile on your cheese and toppings. Pop back in the oven for another 10-12 minutes (this time I used two middle racks and switched them again halfway.)

My toppings:

  • Very thinly sliced sweet onion
  • Thinly sliced green pepper
  • Black olives
  • 4 cheese blend (Parmesan, Asiago, Provolone, Fontina)

And, yes, I did not forget the sauce:

  • 4 oz can of tomato paste
  • 1/3-1/2c water depending on how thick you want it (peter reinhart says do not make it very thick, and I have to agree)
  • 2 tsp italian dried herb blend (oregano, rosemary, thyme, marjoram, basil)
  • 1/2 tsp dried red pepper flakes or chili powder
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar (optional)

This is going to Yeastspotting

Comments on: "Homemade Pizza Dough and Sauce" (11)

  1. Tahemeem said:

    wow.. that looks wonderful… love the crust and the toppings… looks like made at pizzeria… superb.. no wonder u are so excited 🙂

  2. Bubbly crust looks fabulous, sooo cheesy and tempting pizza..

  3. home made pizza is always best, crust looks awesome.

  4. Oh yes..you completely nailed it, loved the look of the crust..isn’t making pizza at home so much fun 🙂

    US Masala

  5. First time here….Lovely blog and yummy recipes… This pizza is absolutely spot on….well done… Keep rocking …. Glad to follow u.
    Reva

  6. Beautiful! That crust is perfect. There is nothing better than homemade pizzas.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  7. Your pizza looks fantastic! I love making pizza at home and I can’t wait to try this recipe — the crust is gorgeous!

  8. the crust looks so good. i love homemade pizza. I’m bookmarking your dough version and give it a try soon, thanks.
    hope you’ll have a wonderful day

  9. I LOVE the look of this crust. So beautiful and bubbly.

  10. That crust looks super bubbly & crisp, mine never come out right, they are generally a bit like pastry which is so wrong.. I love the new look blog, by the way, it looks really clear and clean & professional, well done!!

Leave a comment