I got inspired to make this when I saw this recipe over at Cranberry Jam blog and I noticed I had a can of tomato paste in the pantry. I don’t usually use tomato paste so who knows how long that has been there! Anyway, this was a perfect one pot and healthy balanced dish. I made a few changes and also cooked it all together in the pressure cooker.

Here is what I did:

  • 1/4c whole lentils/dal (I used a combination of masoor and tiny French lentils)
  • 1 1/4c brown basmati (white basmati will cook faster and get mushier, so if you use that, you may want to cook the lentils separately and then boil it altogether (instead of pressure cook) so it doesnt overcook the rice)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 dried red chilies
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 red onion sliced thinly
  • 2 big cloves of garlic, grated or chopped
  • 1 inch ginger, grated
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • salt
  • 2 Tbs tomato paste
  • 1/2c mixed vegetables – frozen or use diced carrots, green beans, peas, etc
  • 3c water
  • cilantro

Soak the lentils until they have absorbed water and plumped up. Then add washed brown basmati to soak before you start cutting the vegetables… you can soak them together.

In the pressure cooker or pot, heat oil. Add cumin seeds, then red chilies, then onions. Cook the onions until starting to turn golden. Then add the garlic and ginger, bay leaf and stir. Next add the spices and then the tomato paste. Then add the vegetables and rice/lentils… stir them to coat with the tomato mixture. Add in three cups of water and after mixing well, taste the water. It will be a good indication of how your rice will taste, so if you need more spices or salt add them now. Pressure cook for 3 whistles or Cover and simmer until rice has cooked through and absorbed all the water.

Garnish with chopped cilantro/coriander leaves and serve with raita.

I made a scallion raita which goes with this nicely. Unfortunately I didn’t take a picture but its dead easy. Just finely slice 3-4 scallions/green onions, chop a handful of cilantro and mince 1-2 green chillies. Add to beaten yogurt (half cup or so) and add a little water to thin if needed. Add salt to taste. You can add a tempering of mustard seeds, curry leaves and urad dal, but I didn’t bother.

Sending to Aipi’s and Priya’s Bookmarked Recipes

Comments on: "Tomato Lentil Veggie Rice w/ Scallion Raita" (21)

  1. Look very appetizing and the raita sounds great too ..I have some scallions with me — will try this out!

  2. Wat a nutritious,filling rice..very delicious.

  3. gr8 recipe and rice with raita looks yummy

  4. this looks so delicious:) thanks for sharing this.

  5. This looks so delicious..I love raita with such flavored rice.

  6. What a delicious complete meal! Great idea doing it with the pressure cooker! Lentils and rice go perfectly well all the time! Thanks for this terrific recipe! Cheers!!!

  7. Protein n flavor packed meal..a keeper recipe!
    Thanks a lot for linking this to bookmark event 🙂

    US Masala

  8. Love the addition of tomato paste.. give is a great color!

    hip pressure cooking
    making pressure cooking hip, one recipe at a time!

  9. Tahemeem said:

    ooh i have cans of tomato paste but am not using these days… i might use that and make this wonderful recipe.. looks colorful 🙂

  10. Looks great and sounds good

  11. What a great way to make lentils! It looks super flavorful and delicious!

  12. I saw this at cranberry jam too and bookmarked it. Love your scallion raita addition. I’ve given you a Stylish Blogger Award, you can pick it up at my blog if you like and thanks for all your support & inspiration, keep it coming!!

  13. This sounds so healthy and nutritious meal. With raita sounds amazing combi

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  14. Now I’m inspired! This looks so good…and so nutritious. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe…and thank you for visiting my blog. I appreciate your kind words!

  15. It a great combination for lentils-lovers :)) (they are my favourite!!)… and the taste sounds very ethnic either!! Great combination!

  16. Oh, what a great looking dish! I love spicy indian flavours, this is right up my alley.
    As to your question on my blog, you absolutely can make my cheesecakes with sugar. My rule of thumb is a cup of sugar in place of my 1/4 cup erythritol-stevia combination.

  17. Oh, I’m glad you liked it and tried it, looks really good 🙂

  18. your dish sounds delicious, healthy and nutritious. love the presentation. thanks for sharing

  19. This one’s calling to me! Looks delicious and sounds healthy! I love the variation of the scallion in raita.

  20. I’m so glad to have found your blog. I love rice and Indian food, so I’m sure this dish will be a big hit.

Leave a comment