I was inspired when I saw this lovely post over at the very well loved Tartlette. I like the idea of using lavender, which I have in my cupboard, but really don’t know where to use it. I followed her recipe, except leaving out the eggs and adding ground flax seeds instead.

  • 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4c rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom powder
  • 1/3c chopped almonds
  • 1/4c chopped dried apricots
  • 1 tsp dried lavender buds
  • 1 Tbs ground flax seeds
  • pinch of baking soda
  • 1/4c yogurt
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4c honey (I think it could use a little more honey, so I would up this to maybe 1/3c)

Preheat oven to 350

Mix everything together into a dough. Press the dough on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, into a rectangle or square shape. cut into bar shapes. Bake 10-12 minutes and cool on a wire rack.

I am sending this to Priya’s and Kiran’s Cooking with whole grains- Oats

Comments on: "Honey Lavender Oatmeal Squares" (11)

  1. they look swell ! nice recipe using lavender

  2. That actually sounds romantic 🙂

    US Masala

  3. Lauren Zietsman said:

    I have some lavender in my cupboard too–are these any good? You never really said if you liked them!

  4. whoaaaa this looks to die for. It would go great with a scoop of Honey Lavender ice cream from Bi-Rite Creamery in SF.

  5. Omg, those squares looks absolutely irresistible, thanks for sending to CWs..

  6. These are beautiful and I love the use of lavender here! I have some in my pantry so I think I might give this a try over the weekend! 🙂

  7. Looks awesome healthy squares.

  8. I’ve been wanting to make something with lavender. These look really interesting and tasty!

  9. Nice combo and a wonderful recipe

  10. I make my granola oat bars with condensed milk but am going to try the honey, much healthier!!
    And I have a lavender plant on my roof terrace, perfect!!

  11. […] Washer Up likes to take sweet things to work to share with the others so when I saw a recipe for Honey Lavender Oatmeal Squares at The Bee & the Fruit in the Kitchen I decided to combine the lemon into that recipe and see […]

Leave a comment