Malai Kofta

This rich, creamy dish is one of our favorites, with the fried (of course) koftas. The sauce is usually thickened with ground cashews and finished with a drizzle of heavy cream. Vegetarian koftas are deliciously spiced and made with a mashed mixture of potatoes, peas and raw onion, made into small balls or ovals and deep fried. What’s not to love??? But someone had a smart idea….. instead of deep frying the kofta, she used her paniyaram pan. Brilliant! This is probably the best recipe for malai kofta I have tried. Β Please see the recipe at red chillies blog. The main thing I changed was I do not grind the masala with milk, I use water. And then added cream at the end.

I was planning to make this for valentines day, even though I do not celebrate much, especially the commercial aspect of it! But I did want to make some treats (typical foodie isnt it?!). However, due to unforseen circumstances this was made today. The malai, though, had a mind of its own….

Do you see what I see?

A Heart!

The drizzled cream formed a heart shape. It was totally unintentional. Ahhhh. Want to know what is even more romantic? I had help! Doesn’t it feel nice to gather with loved ones in the kitchen and Β put together a meal?

The yummy koftas!

 

So even though I’m a party pooper, kill-joy, scrooge mcduck…. I gotta say it (belated)

Happy Valentines Day!

Sending this to Aipi’s Bookmarked Recipes and Hearth and Soul, and Maggie’s DHHD,Β  with love.

Comments on: "Malai Kofta" (22)

  1. Now this is genious..seriously… using that pan for kofta… i am totally going to try this πŸ™‚ and the heart shape is so lovely πŸ™‚ truly romantic πŸ™‚

  2. Ahh..malai koftas..love it with hot buttery garlic naan πŸ™‚
    I usually bake or broil the koftas, using the pan sounds great too..and the unintentional heart is totally romantic πŸ™‚

    Thanks a lot for linking this to bookmark event πŸ™‚

    US Masala

  3. What a great way to make koftas… the dish looks lovely..
    Reva

  4. Fingerlicking malai kofta, love the way u have cooked ur koftas, delicious dish..

  5. what a great looking dish!!!

  6. Girl, I am liking this uber delicious kofta of yours too much! I cook a lot with my valentine of 17 yrs (18 almost) and I know the joy of pottering around the kitchen with someone you love — Happy Valentines Day – belated albeit πŸ™‚

  7. Heart in the kofta curry looks cute. delicious malai kofta

  8. LOL, love it! They do sound…and look wonderful. I guess that sour cream was trying to warm that scroogey heart a little, huh ;)…tee hee…kidding! This sounds delicious. You had me at cashews. Thanks for sharing it w/ the hearth and soul hop this week!

  9. Happy belated Valentine’s Day to you too! Wow, does this look good…this meal would be a huge success in my house…my hubby would go crazy for it!

  10. This looks so good, but I don’t have one of those pans, I want one now!! I might try cooking them in the oven instead of deep frying it -works for falafels!!

    • If it works for falafel, I think it would work here too. Great idea! The pan I have is similar to the abelskiver (sp?) pans you can find on Amazon, if you were interested πŸ™‚

  11. The curry sauce looks absolutely to die for. I love the layers of flavors that red chillis put into their recipe. Thanks for sharing – your version looks creamy and perfect!

  12. this looks so creamy and delicious! that’s a great way to make koftas! Lovely blog!

  13. I have been looking for this recipe for some time. So glad I found it here. Incredibly creamy and am sure, delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  14. sabjimata said:

    never seen kofta cooked this way. i am a big fan of the deep fry but i know others who arent. will share this post to my fb page!

Leave a comment