First of all, happy ugadi wishes to everyone.

I know, I haven’t been around for a while. I have thought of you, and written blog posts in my mind… just never got around to writing them out here. What’s been going on here? A lot, and a lot of nothing. I was enjoying the beginnings of spring like anything. I think I may have seasonal affective disorder, because I just cannot handle winter (and our winter is very mild comparatively!). When the weather warmed up, I realized it had been a long time since I felt alive! The trees were blossoming everywhere. Crabapple, dogwoods, pear trees, cherry blossoms. One cute one with lilac coloured blooms (have to find out what kind it is). I even have some fav trees around the neighborhood that I wanted to photograph and share. There is this one perfectly shaped pear tree that is HUGE. I wonder how old it is. I went for a walk with the crab apple blossoms falling around me…  The air smelled so sweet that day. Then the wisteria started coming out. OOOOh I love wisteria. I only discovered its existence 2 years ago. I could go on and on.

But then it got cold again. Most of the blossoms have been blown away by wind and rain and time. And I have no pictures to share.

I’ve also been trying to make some changes. After having some health issues, gaining about 10 lbs over the winter, and doing lots of  reading, I’m dabbling with gluten free/grain free eating and reducing sugar intake, among other things. Ive been walking every day the weather was nice, and want to restart yoga. Oh and getting enough sleep. That is a huge one in my life.

Here is one of the new things I have tried. It is not classic fudge, contains no dairy at all, but you must like the taste of coconut(oil). 🙂

This recipe makes 6 pieces, but you can increase the amounts to 1/2c and 1/4c to make more.

  • 2Tbs coconut oil – use a good quality one with a nice aroma and taste
  • 2Tbs peanut butter (or almond/cashew butter)
  • 1Tbs white chocolate chips (made with cocoa butter)
  • 1Tbs honey

Melt the top three ingredients in a double boiler. Stir in the honey. Mix well and pour into small bowl/plate. Chill in the freezer and then transfer to fridge once it is firm. Cut into pieces and eat cold.

*I may still post recipes that I made in the recent past and photographed which do contain gluten*

Comments on: "Hello to spring… Happy Ugadi…. and peanut butter ‘fudge’" (8)

  1. welcome back honeybee, hope u r fit & better now ! the fudge looks good, take care !

  2. Happy Ugadi wishes..fudge looks super delicious..

  3. Happy ugadi to you and your family. Peanut butter fudge looks awesome delicious.

  4. I have just gone vegan & gluten free for a month to try to lose some weight too! It’s easier than I thought, lots of beans, lentils, rice,veg & fruit. I couldn’t do it in the Winter though, I like my cheese and pasta too much! I’m catching up with a few “normal veggie” recipes and then I will be posting vegan gluten free ones if you need some support or inspiration, take care!

  5. thedosagirl said:

    After eating gluten free for a month I ate gluten for two days and felt bloated and gross. I am back eating G free and I feel so good!

  6. Looks like a great recipe. Thanks, Honeybee!

    Like you, I’ve been away from my blogging buddies, too. In my case, due to my dear husband’s medical issues–I love to care for my man, however, it does take me away from my blog. LIke you, I’ve gained weight, so your commitment to reducing sugar and re-starting yoga inspires me. Starting tomorrow, I’ll do the same!

    BTW, just saw your fried okra recipe from December. Since my husband loves okra, I do think I’ll try it.

  7. Looks very simple and delicious. Will try it.

Leave a comment