There are basically two salad dressings I make. One is this one, and the other…. I’ll share that another day 😉

I’ve been making it for a while now, and I’m a terrible one for measuring. The truth is, I tried to measure things today in order to share this recipe and I failed at that! So I suggest that you play around with the ratios to your liking.

Here is my best estimates:

  • 1/2c frozen blueberries (can be thawed or fresh)
  • 1-2 minced fresh green chilies (I like this, but you can leave it out if you don’t like it)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4c balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4c water
  • 1-2 Tbs honey
  • 1 Tbs dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tsp flax oil (optional, but it adds omega 3)
  • 1/4c extra virgin olive oil

First I blend the blueberries, garlic and green chili to bits in a mixie or blender. Scrape down the sides. Add the rest of the ingredients except olive oil and blend again. Taste and make adjustments. If its too strong, add more water. If its too sour, add more honey. Lastly, add in the olive oil. If you have an opening in the top so that you can drizzle it in slowly while the blender is on that’s better, but its also fine to just add it and blend until it comes together and is thickened. Drizzle over any salad you like.

For the salad I put:

  • Mixed baby greens
  • Cucumber sliced
  • Green pepper in thin slices
  • Yellow tomato, diced
  • Walnuts
  • Dried cranberries
  • Mandarin oranges

You could also add carrots, spinach, jicama, other dried fruits, pomegranate, blueberries, strawberry slices, apples, celery, sunflower seeds. Endless possibilities for whatever you have on hand.

Sending this to Only Salads by Prathibha and Pari and Food Palette – Green by Torview

Comments on: "Veggie Salad with Blueberry Balsamic Vinaigrette" (10)

  1. Veggie salad with blueberry balsamic vinaigrette look awesome. Your template looks nice

  2. I like balsamic vinegar in dressings. Colorful salads.

  3. What a gorgeous, colorful salad and the blueberry dressing sounds delicious.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog–I hope you do enjoy the roasted eggplant pasta. Don’t worry about the pine nuts–they add a nice toasty crunch but can be left out or another toasted nut used instead.

    Aloha,

    Deb

  4. wow what a gourmet salad and amazing snaps thanks for the congrats on the baby

    hugs Rebecca

  5. Tahemeem said:

    Lovely colors on the plate… i love balsamic vinegar in my salads… yum 🙂

  6. The colors in your salad are gorgeous. I love the idea of tossing the salad with a blueberry dressing, I’ll wager this is delicious. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. beautiful n vibrant looking..I also liked the new look of your page 🙂

    US Masala

  8. thank you for linking love the flavours in the salad no problem I will add the country

  9. You dressing sounds really good!

  10. Salad looks so colorful and yummy!
    Do drop by
    Padhuskitchen
    when u find time

Leave a comment