Healthy Banana Bread

 

Yes, half the loaf is already gone!

With bananas (of course),  flax seeds, walnuts, kefir, whole wheat flour and only 2 TBS of oil,  I think these can qualify as healthy! But, don’t worry. Neither the flavor, nor the tenderness suffer for it.  This is my go-to banana bread recipe, and I think its very moist and the perfect amount of sweetness. They also make wonderful muffins. The only downside, if you can count it as such, is that it takes three bowls to make this. 😀

In one bowl:

  • mash 2 overripe bananas

In another bowl mix together:

  • 1c all purpose flour
  • 1/2c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1t baking powder
  • 2t pumpkin pie spice (the one I have lacks much flavor, so if yours is strong, or you want to use just cinnamon, you may reduce it to 1tsp)

In third bowl:

  • 1TBS ground flax seeds
  • 3 TBS water
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4c brown sugar
  • 1/3c granulated sugar
  • 2 TBS oil (I used sunflower)
  • 1/4c kefir (or yogurt- plain)
  • 2t vanilla extract

Have ready:

1/2 c walnuts (I like to add a little more) +1 TBS flour

Preheat oven to 350.

Grease and flour a loaf pan. Mine is a smaller size, I think 4×8, and if you use a larger one it may not be as thick/high, so keep that in mind.

Mix the flax seed with water and let it sit for 5 mins . Add the egg and beat with a fork. Then beat the sugars into that, mixing well. Add the rest of the “wet” ingredients and the bananas and continue beating. Get out all your aggression. Then add the “dry” flour mixture and mix lightly till just incorporated.  In the’ flour’ bowl mix the chopped walnuts with another 1TBS of flour, then stir into the batter. The reason for this is so they don’t all sink to the bottom of the pan .

Bake for 40 minutes.

Once out of the oven and cool enough to handle, turn out onto a baking rack to finish cooling completely. If you allow it to cool in the pan, the bottom may get soggy.

I am submitting this to “monthly mingle – baking with fruit” hosted by Deeba of passionateaboutbaking and created by Meeta of whats for lunch honey!

Comments on: "Healthy Banana Bread" (19)

  1. looks wonderful and so moist

  2. I never thought of throwing flax seed in there… I’ll have to give it a go next time! I find a nice substitute for sugar is honey, too… gives it a slightly different flavor, especially if you use local flower honey.

  3. Rebecca, thank you.

    T-A-D, honey is a good idea. I will try that next time. I’m crazy about local honeys!

  4. thedosagirl said:

    Adding flaw seed is a terrific idea! I love to make banana bread but I never thought of that.

  5. Tahemeem said:

    Its just wonderfull… so healthy and looking so tasty… Loving it!!!

  6. I also add flax seeds to my breads..especially the eggless ones..make it nutritious!

  7. no blog is too small to matter LOL

  8. Oh, so tempting! It definitely does look moist and delicious and I love the addition of flax. Fantastic 😀

  9. Great way to add some goodness!

  10. Thanks for the kind comments everyone. Yep, flax can be used as an egg substitute too. Cool stuff!

  11. Yum! Sounds delicious and healthy..and so comforting too.

  12. Great recipe, It looks delicious and healthy!

  13. Is there some way to knock off the eggs completely? like maybe use some yoghurt or extra flax seeds..? or will it make it too gummy..? thranks in advance for helping with the answer.. this seems yummy & healthy n i’d love to try, but eggless….

    • Hi niharika, I have made other recipes eggless before, but not this particular one (that I recall). If I were to make this eggless, I would probably add 2TBS ground flax seeds to 1/4c water – let it set until it gets thickened (to replace the thickness of egg), additional 1TBS oil (to replace the fat in the egg) and 1T apple cider vinegar – or other acidic (to help it rise). I may also increase the baking powder to 2 tsp. I can’t guarantee this will work, but next time I will try it and see. Do let me know if you try it.

  14. Fabulous loaf! Wonderful, moist and healthy; I don’t think it can get better than this. Thanks a million for bringing this to the Mingle!! How nice of you. Cheers

  15. WOW!!!! that’s lovely… dessert n healthy at that….. 🙂
    Looks yummy…

    Cheers,
    The Variable, Crazy Over Desserts – Nachiketa
    Catch me on facebook @ Crazy Over Desserts

  16. I have 4 over-ripe bananas calling to me to be baked into your banana bread.

Leave a comment