20 minute Pasta Dinner

This is something I threw together quickly one night. It helps to use the convenience of some frozen veggies. When I cook pasta, I often don’t use the whole thing at once, so I often sometimes freeze the cooked and unused portion. Then the most I have to do is pop it in the boiling water to reheat and use immediately. Saves time! Not really a recipe, but this is what I did:

  • Spaghetti noodles (previously cooked and frozen. or cook it fresh)
  • Broccoli (frozen)
  • Spinach (frozen)
  • Olive oil
  • Chopped garlic
  • 1 shallot sliced thinly
  • Crushed or broken red chillies
  • Sundried tomatoes, finely chopped
  • Feta cheese, crumbled, optional
  • Nutritional yeast- optional (great for adding vitamins to a veggie diet)
  • Panko breadcrumbs (a TBS or two)
  • Italian dried herb blend
  • Salt to taste

Bring a cup or two of water to boil. Add in the broccoli and cook till done. Then add the spinach and spaghetti. Once those are thawed and warm, turn off the heat and drain.

In the meantime, heat a saute pan and add olive oil. Then shallot, garlic, red chillies until slightly browned. Add sundried tomatoes… Then the veggie/noodles, stir well. Heat another tsp of oil and add to it the italian herb blend, then the panko bread crumbs and heat until they are toasty. Sprinkle on top of the noodles, along with nutritional yeast and feta cheese. Voila!

This is my entry for Presto Pasta Night hosted this week by The crispy cook.

And also for Vegetarian Foodie Fridays.

Comments on: "20 minute Pasta Dinner" (3)

  1. Thanks for sending this dish over to Presto Pasta Nights this week!

  2. What a stunning photo! I love your suggestion of freezing leftover veggies for just such occasions. Thanks for sharing this one with Presto Pasta Nights.

  3. This looks yum! I’m glad I’m not the only one who adds nutritional yeast on top of pasta đŸ™‚

Leave a comment