My first post of 2011! After quite a day in the kitchen, I might add. For some reason, things were not going smoothly. Simple things which should have been done quickly took a long time. The tofu was sticking to the pan. I added ajwain instead of sesame seeds to the oil and had to start again. It’s okay… all’s well that ends well. And the final product was really good. Much better than greasy take out!

I used the recipe found here, but made a few changes because I found that one a bit bland.

  • 8 oz soba noodles (or any)
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter (unsalted, unsweetened)
  • 2 TBS Tamari sauce or low sodium soy sauce (I love this one)
  • 2 TBS water
  • 1 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1/2  lemon, juiced
  • 3/4 inch fresh ginger, finely grated
  • 1 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp hot jalepeno sauce or chili paste
  • handful of cilantro/coriander leaves
  • few scallion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup shelled unsalted peanuts

Begin by making the sauce. In your mixie or blender add peanut butter, tamari, water, vinegar, lemon juice, ginger, brown sugar, red chili, hot sauce, and cilantro leaves and grind it together to form the sauce. No cooking required!

Boil or steam the broccoli. Boil the soba noodles according to the package (mine says 3 minutes) be careful not to overcook them because they  can turn mushy faster than regular pasta noodles. You could also use rice noodles or spaghetti.

Stir it all together and voila! Done.

I served this with Tofu and swiss chard stir fry inspired by this lovely blogger, but with my own sauce, which I will blog about another time.

We also had some simple chili-garlic-sesame green beans. JF loves the french cut ones. Simply heat oil in the pan, add garlic, then red chilie flakes or broken red chilies and sesame seeds. Then green beans (thaw or heat them first if using frozen) and salt. Instead of sesame you could also toast some chopped almonds in the pan before adding the garlic. That is sooo good.

Sending this to Bookmarked recipes by Aipi and Priya and Hearth and Soul at a moderate life

Hearth n' Soul Blog Hop at A Moderate Life

Comments on: "Soba noodles with Thai peanut sauce" (7)

  1. looks swell- the combo of flavours keeps me hooked !!

  2. wow thats really delicious looking dear….

    Event: Dish Name Starts with E
    Learning-to-cook
    Regards,
    Akila

  3. Looks awesome. I have some soba noodle in hand. waiting to try this one.

  4. I love your peanut sauce – it sounds so delicious! I can’t eat soy but I want to try this with chicken. Thanks for sharing this with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop!

  5. Delicious…Such a tempting platter you have there…
    Thanks a lot for linking this to bookmark event 🙂

    US Masala

  6. This looks utterly delicious! And definitely better than take out! I was thinking of buying tofu today and now I know I will cause you inspired me!

  7. What a wonderful sounding recipe! looks so good!

Leave a comment